Oasis, The last Humans


Oasis, The last Humans book 1
by Dima Zales

Sigh, I was not a fan. First of all I like to read YA to get away from the swearing and sex. Does that happen in this book. um No very first sentence starts out swearing. I just about put it down right then and there. BUT because I am doing this for a review I owed the author my time even though it drove me crazy just as much as the main character Theo… Insanity is taboo in this future world esp having an imaginary friend Phoe “pronounced Fi”. He tries everything not to let anyone know he talks to himself so much so not even a twitch of his neck will give it away. But why does Phoe know things about others that an imaginary friend shouldn’t know? Is there more to the story with his imaginary friend Phoe. They live in the oasis aka the dome and even Love is taboo. This was a quick read. It starts to get more interesting by chapter 9 where what I suspected came to pass. Reminded me of the Maze Runner, Divergent series “Books not the movies”, and sprinkle in I robot to be quite honest. There was a big twist at the end which made it interesting but would I want to read more. to be honest No, Not with the all the swearing and graphic violence….. I am happy to report no sex but there was a couple of kisses.

Oasis, The Last Humans

27830478

A new dystopian/post-apocalyptic series from a New York Times bestselling author

My name is Theo, and I’m a resident of Oasis, the last habitable area on Earth. It’s meant to be a paradise, a place where we are all content. Vulgarity, violence, insanity, and other ills are but a distant memory, and even death no longer plagues us.

I was once content too, but now I’m different. Now I hear a voice in my head, and she tells me things no imaginary friend should know. Her name is Phoe, and she is my delusion.

Or is she?

Leave a Reply

